Skip Navigation

Portage Central Mustangs

The Official Website of Portage Central Athletics

.

Portage Central Mustangs

The Official Website of Portage Central Athletics

Portage Central Mustangs

The Official Website of Portage Central Athletics

Announcements and Important Events

Announcement

1 month ago @ 3:36PM

Winter Sports Information - 2020-2021

VERY IMPORTANT: Please make sure to stay tuned to all of the latest updates from the MHSAA at their Reopening Page. With the ever-changing landscape of information from the state, it’s important to stay as informed as possible. Check that page out here.

Facial coverings are required for all fall student-athletes and coaches every day. You will have to participate in the health screening and get a temperature check upon arrival at all athletic facilities. Please take proper hand hygiene precautions before arriving at our facilities. 

REMINDER: Follow Portage Central Athletics on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook at @PCMustangSports.

Winter Sports Start Date(s):
PENDING THE ALLOWANCE FROM THE MDHHS, ALL WINTER SPORTS SPORTS WILL RESUME/START PRACTICES AND TRYOUTS ON WEDNESDAY, DEC. 9TH

1. Pre-Participation Physical Examination - Must be on file with the Athletic Office, or turned into coaches/trainer on the first day of practice. The physical must be dated after April 15th of 2019. NEW: This means that pre-participation physical examinations that were good for the 2019-2020 school year are still good for the 2020-2021 school year. IF you do already have a physical form on file from the previous school year, you will still need to fill out a new Health Sports Questionnaire and turn that into the Athletic Dept. before the season starts. That form can be found here.

No student-athlete will be allowed to participate unless this is accounted for. Please contact PC Athletics Secretary, Julie Morrissey, at jmorrissey@portageps.org, or by phone at 323-5361 if you have any questions on the status of a student-athletes physical. You may also contact Portage Central Athletic Trainer, Rachel Leonard at rleonard@portageps.org with Physical questions. You can find the MHSAA Official Physical form here.

Upon selection to a team:
2. Pay to Participate Payment - Student-Athletes are required to pay a participation fee to Portage Public Schools. The fee will be administered online in the Skyward Family Access Module under Fee Management upon a student-athlete being placed on a Roster. This usually happens within a week from the time the rosters are established. For information on how to find that fee online, see the PPS Pay to Participate Information Sheet and for a walk-through on how to pay online, go to PTP Online Payment through Skyward. Again, please make payment as soon as your student-athlete has been rostered! Once they start competitions, the Fee is past due!

3. Code of Conduct Meeting (if a first time PCHS Student-Athlete) – The Code of Conduct Meeting will not take place this year. Instead, we are expecting new student-athletes to watch the following video:

Code of Conduct Video on YouTube

After watching the video, we ask that the student-athlete print off the Code of Conduct Form and turn it into the Athletic Office. 

Specific Program Information: 

ALL WINTER SPORTS ARE ON PAUSE UNTIL AT LEAST WEDNESDAY, DEC. 9TH. Keep checking back as more information comes in!
Hockey:

For any questions related to the Portage Muskies Hockey Program, please contact Head Coach Drew Moffit at moffitdrew@yahoo.com

Girls Basketball: 
See the basketball website for more information.

For any questions related to Girls Basketball, please contact Head Coach Rob Brown at rbrown@portageps.org

Competitive Cheer:

For any questions related to Competitive Cheer, please contact Head Coach Katie Eichstaedt at keichstaedt@portageps.org

Boys Basketball:.  

For any questions related to Boys Basketball, please contact Head Basketball Coach Ray Robinson at rrobinson@portageps.org

Wrestling:

For any questions related to Wrestling, please contact Head Coach James Carrow at jcarrow@portageps.org

Bowling:

For any questions related to Bowling, please contact Head Coach Mark Gunthorpe at gunthorpem@yahoo.com

Alpine Ski:

For any questions related to Alpine Ski, please contact Head Coach Linda Kozacki at linda.kozacki@gmail.com

Boys Swim and Dive: 

For any questions related to Boys Swim and Dive, please contact Head Coach Jim Schafer at jschafer@portageps.org

View all Announcements & Events

https://pcmustangsports.com
Advertisement Advertisement