Skip Navigation

Portage Central Mustangs

The Official Website of Portage Central Athletics

.

Portage Central Mustangs

The Official Website of Portage Central Athletics

Portage Central Mustangs

The Official Website of Portage Central Athletics

Announcements and Important Events

Announcement

2 months ago @ 1:26PM

Fall Sports Information - 2020

VERY IMPORTANT: Please make sure to stay tuned to all of the latest updates from the MHSAA at their Reopening Page. With the ever-changing landscape of information from the state, it’s important to stay as informed as possible. Check that page out here.

Facial coverings and Individual water supply are required for all fall student-athletes and coaches every day. You will have to participate in the health screening and get a temperature check upon arrival at all athletic facilities. Please take proper hand hygiene precautions before arriving at our facilities. 

REMINDER: Follow Portage Central Athletics on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook at @PCMustangSports.

Fall Sports Start Date(s):
Monday, August 10th – Football
Wednesday, August 12th – All other Fall Sports*

* Volleyball and Swim and Dive are subject to the opening of the school gymnasiums and natatoriums.

1. Pre-Participation Physical Examination - Must be on file with the Athletic Office, or turned into coaches/trainer on the first day of practice. The physical must be dated after April 15th of 2019. NEW: This means that pre-participation physical examinations that were good for the 2019-2020 school year are still good for the 2020-2021 school year. IF you do already have a physical form on file from the previous school year, you will still need to fill out a new Health Sports Questionnaire and turn that into the Athletic Dept. before the season starts. That form can be found here.

No student-athlete will be allowed to participate unless this is accounted for. Please contact PC Athletics Secretary, Julie Morrissey, at jmorrissey@portageps.org, or by phone at 323-5361 if you have any questions on the status of a student-athletes physical. You may also contact Portage Central Athletic Trainer, Rachel Leonard at rleonard@portageps.org with Physical questions. You can find the MHSAA Official Physical form here.

Upon selection to a team:
2. Pay to Participate Payment - Student-Athletes are required to pay a participation fee to Portage Public Schools. The fee will be administered online in the Skyward Family Access Module under Fee Management upon a student-athlete being placed on a Roster. This usually happens within a week from the time the rosters are established. For information on how to find that fee online, see the 
PPS Pay to Participate Information Sheet and for a walk-through on how to pay online, go to PTP Online Payment through Skyward. Again, please make payment as soon as your student-athlete has been rostered! Once they start competitions, the Fee is past due!

3. Code of Conduct Meeting (if a first time PCHS Student-Athlete) – THE CODE OF CONDUCT MEETINGS HAVE YET TO BE SCHEDULED FOR THE FALL OF 2020.  

Specific Program Information: Keep checking back as more information comes in!

Football:
The first day of Football practice is Monday, August 10th. Practice starts at McCamley Field at 8:30 am. 

For more information, contact Head Coach Mick Enders at menders@portageps.org.

Cross Country:
The first day of official Cross Country practice is Wednesday, August 12th. Meet at McCamley Field at 7:30 am. 

For more information, contact Head Coach Dan Wytko at dwytko@portageps.org.

Volleyball:
Volleyball will start on Wednesday, Aug. 12th at 6:00 pm at McCamley Field. Activities will end at 8:00 pm. 

For more information, contact Head Coach Kayleen Grand at kgrand@portageps.org.

Boys Tennis:
The first day of Boys Tennis Tryouts is Wednesday, August 12th. Players are to report to the PCHS Tennis Courts at 8:30 am for a 9:00 am session. Park and get dropped off behind the Natatorium.

For more information, contact Head Coach Nancy Martin at nmartin@portageps.org.

Boys Soccer:
Boys Soccer tryouts start on Wednesday, Aug. 12th at 5:00 pm at Mustang Field. If you are interested, please fill out the following Google Form Registration Link: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1lIu34JqdBCgFMzVy1F2qaFeVCk55T6StUBrv1OVs7mA/viewform?edit_requested=true

For more information, contact Head Coach Will Rungaitis at willrungaitis@gmail.com

Girls Swimming and Diving:
PENDING THE OPENING OF THE NATATORIUM AT PCHS: The first day of Girls Swim and Dive practice will be Wednesday, Aug. 12th at 8:00 am at the PCHS Natatorium.

For more information, contact Head Coach Jim Schafer at jschafer@portageps.org.

Girls Golf:
Girls Golf Tryouts will begin on Wednesday, Aug. 12th at the Moors. Here is the plan for the first three days:

Wednesday Aug 12th – 8:00am @ The Moors (Meet out at the range) Hit range balls, go over meet and great stuff. Practice will be approx. 1 ½ hours

Thursday Aug 13th – 8:00am @ Milham Park (Meet out at the range) Hit range balls. Some may play 9 holes depending on who all we have. Practice will be approx. 1 ½ hours longer if you are playing

Friday Aug 14th – 8:00am @ Milham Park (Meet out at the range) Hit range balls. Some may play 9 holes again depending on who all we have. Practice will be approx. 1 ½ hours longer if you are playing

For more information, contact Head Coach Tony Ely at tony@tonyely.com

Sideline Cheer:
Sideline Cheer will continue their practices on Monday, August 10th at McCamley Field at 8:00 am.

For more information, contact Head Coach Katie Eichstaedt at keichstaedt@portageps.org.

View all Announcements & Events

https://pcmustangsports.com
Advertisement Advertisement