Skip Navigation

Portage Central Mustang Sports

The Official Website of Portage Central Athletics

.

Portage Central Mustang Sports

The Official Website of Portage Central Athletics

Portage Central Mustang Sports

The Official Website of Portage Central Athletics

Announcements and Important Events

Announcement

3 weeks ago @ 11:59AM

Winter Sports Information - 2018-2019

Winter Sports Start Date(s):
Monday, Oct. 29th - Hockey Tryouts Begin.
Monday, Nov. 5th - Boys Basketball and Competitive Cheer Tryouts/Practice Begin.
Monday, Nov. 12th - Girls Basketball, Wrestling, Bowling, and Alpine Ski Tryouts/Practice Begin.
Monday, Nov. 19th - Boys Swim and Dive Practice Begins. 

1. Pre-Participation Physical Examination -  Must be on file with the Athletic Office, or turned into coaches/trainer on the first day of practice. The physical must be dated after April 15th of 2018. No student-athlete will be allowed to participate unless this is accounted for. Please contact PC Athletics Secretary, Julie Morrissey, at jmorrissey@portageps.org, or by phone at 323-5361 if you have any questions on the status of a student-athletes physical. You may also contact Portage Central Athletic Trainer, Rachel O'Boyle at roboyle@portageps.org with Physical questions. You can find the MHSAA Official Physical form here.

Upon selection to a team:
2. Pay to Participate Payment - Student Athletes are required to pay a participation fee to Portage Public Schools. The fee will be administered online in the Skyward Family Access Module under Fee Management upon a student-athlete being placed on a Roster. This usually happens within a week from the time the rosters are established. For information on how to find that fee online, see the PPS Pay to Participate Information Sheet and for a walk-through on how to pay online, go to PTP Online Payment through Skyward. Again, please make payment as soon as your student-athlete has been rostered. 

3. Code of Conduct Meeting (if a first time PCHS Student-Athlete) - Code of Conduct Dates are as follows: Tuesday, Nov. 20th at 7:00 PM in room 1140 - Chambers Classroom and Tuesday, Nov. 27th at 7:00 AM in the HS Community RoomA PARENT/GUARDIAN MUST BE IN ATTENDANCE. 

Specific Program Information:

Hockey - The first day of Tryouts is Monday, Oct. 29th at 5:45 pm at Wings West. Players must register for tryouts. Tryouts continue on Tuesday, Oct. 30th at 7:50 pm, and Wednesday, October 31st at 5:30 pm. All tryouts will be held at Wings West. For more information, make sure to visit https://www.portagecentralhockey.com/. Contact Coach Drew Moffit at moffitdrew@yahoo.com for further details. 

Boys Basketball - The first day of Tryouts is Monday, Nov. 5th. at 3:00 pm in the High School Gymnasium. Bring Gym Specific Basketball shoes. Tryouts run through Nov. 7th. Once teams have been made, practices will be 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm for the Freshman team, and 5:15 pm - 7:15 pm for the JV/Varsity Team. Contact Coach Ray Robinson at rrobinson@portageps.org for further details. 

Competitive Cheer - The first day of Tryouts in Monday, Nov. 5th from 3:00 - 5:30 pm in the HS Commons. Final Tryouts are Tuesday, November 6th from 3:00 - 7:00 pm (times are picked on Monday). Contact Coach Katie Eichstaedt at keichstaedt@portageps.org for further details. 

Girls BasketballThere is a player/parent meeting and gear fitting on Monday, Oct. 29th at 7:00 pm at the High School Commons. The first day of tryouts is Monday, Nov. 12th, at 3:05 pm in the HS Gymnasium for the Varsity, and 5:05 pm for the 9th/JV team. Trouts will run through Nov. 7th. Make sure to visit the PC Girls Basketball Website for more information, and contact Coach Rob Brown at rbrown@portageps.org for further details. 

Wrestling - The first day of practices will be Nov. 12th at 3:00 pm in the HS Mat Room. Everyone is welcome. Bring shorts/sweatpants, a shirt and wrestling shoes. Contact Coach James Carrow at jcarrow@portageps.org for further details. 

Alpine Ski - The first day of practice for Alpine Ski is Monday, Nov. 12th. This program is co-oped with Portage Northern. Contact coach Linda Kozacki at linda.kozacki@gmail.com for further details. 

Bowling - The first day of practice for Bowling is Monday, Nov. 12th. Tryouts will be held at Airway Lanes on Monday, Nov. 12th and Tuesday, Nov. 13th from 3:30-5:00. Contact Coaches Bob and Cindy Bucknell at cbucknell@portageps.org for further details. 

Boys Swim and Dive - The first day of practice for Boys Swim and Dive is Monday, Nov. 19th after school in the PCHS Natatorium. Contact Coach Jim Schafer at jschafer@portageps.org for further details. 

 

 

View all Announcements & Events

https://pcmustangsports.com
Advertisement Advertisement